top of page

Venezuela

Ana Patricia Romay


venezuela,


esbozos de poemas en constante escritura / poem sketches in constant writing


i have spent my whole life trying to hate you

trying to understand you

the north of the south

my north and my doubt

we have a lot in common, see

your borders try to carry all the burdens and the beauty of the world

beautiful women, 7 heavy crowns

venezuelan women hold the only guinness record that mother nature didn’t give us

and we got it all by ourselves

blood, sweat, and tears

nose jobs, catwalks, charisma, a higher-than-average tolerance to pain, heat, hate

blush and powder, bleach powder, gunpowder

straightening and bleaching our roots

keratin and makeup dupes

arepa tostón and patacón

calories don’t count in the tropic

when you’re blessed with 90-60-90

or the money to afford a lipo

when you’re the one behind the hot greasy stove food is easy to reject

when food is scarce you don’t even have to try

but just wait, you haven’t heard all of it yet


“venezuela tiene nombre de mujer”

that’s the catchphrase

venezuela has a woman’s name

in corny cursive with a salto ángel background and a montage of our latest miss universe

a natural beauty that only happened to be within the borders a stranger drew for us

equated to the beauty women had to fight for

and that men felt entitled to

when i was 8 months old someone told my mom to sign me up for the gerber baby contest

a pair of wrinkled hands held my face and said i’d be miss venezuela one day

the dream and burden of beauty placed upon me

an impermanent and ever-decaying dream

in an ever-decaying land

tin roofs and unstable foundations

held by women that have no other choice

heeled strut over rubbish

hips that cut the wind and dodge bullets

a pair of tight jeans and long hair walking past the little boy digging for edible waste and you’ll forget all about the hunger

maybe if i put enough perfume you won’t smell the blood and the smoke

if my teeth are white enough maybe they’ll light the way out of bolívar’s labyrinth


venezuela is a woman and i believe her

i believe her when she tells me she’s abused

i know she believes me when i tell her i miss her

i know she believes me when i tell her i’ll help

i know she understands when i tell her i won’t come back

venezuela’s womanhood is in her desire to be all at once

andean caribbean amazonic paradise

desert, jungle, beach, ice

the bluest sea for the lowest price

clap your hands for the mosquitoes and the beauty queen

the humid sticky air of the sea

see, the heated smell of real coffee, and i mean real coffee, hair straightening treatments, and tear gas bombs all remind me of home

i can still smell the detergent on my school uniform and the wet dirt at 6 a.m. when the sun was not up yet but the guacharacas were up and screaming

the birds are much quieter here

life is much quieter here

on the other side of the ocean

why does the caged bird scream?

i still hear it from this side of the stream

i promise, i promise

i’m searching for the key


sound and noise

my mom’s kettle, her coffee pot

the lovely sound of her singing voice

the boiling grease at my school’s canteen

peddlers selling products that rhyme

construction workers yelling on the street

thuds and glass and murder and crime

a fleeting rusty car blasting merengue

mothers concerned about dengue

the aggressiveness of the tropical rain

the murmurs of all those who pray

hear, hear, my people screaming in pain

there’s my land, how much of her i still hear

strident silence, life is much quieter here


it seems like i can only love you from a distance

because here i find you everywhere

i can spot a venezuelan accent within a 2 kilometer radius

hell, i can tell by the way they walk

you would know it if someone was haunted by the same ghost

by the same past

tied by the same thread to the broken land

thread of wire, it leaves marks, makes me bleed

thread of silk, i caress it before falling asleep

i look for the peculiar v and the z

for the shape of her name

everywhere.


i wear my nationalism like i wear my pride

it’s broken and it hides

ambivalence and shame towards the motherland

patria is a beautiful broken porcelain figurine

with voluptuous curves and big breasts and a traditional colorful dress carrying fruit, or meat, or limbs on a platter

it doesn’t really matter,

smiling

and i keep trying to glue the pieces together

asking you to ignore the cracks

this is her, look

this is where i come from, this is me


this is not me

i have no idea who she is

but isn’t she beautiful? wouldn’t you like to hold her?

yes, i know some of the pieces are gone

i probably left them in suitcases and plane seats

they must be deep in the atlantic sea

but isn’t she pretty? doesn’t she look like me?


whenever you hear a country is ignorant

know it probably does not know how to read

but knows what it’s like to bleed


when someone else tries to explain my own land to me my blood boils


i try to explain you to strangers, because describing you is describing me, you are the piece of me i miss the most

i fear you kept a version of myself imprisoned there, inside your humid bright walls, along the silhouettes of el avila

i fear i left her there and she’ll never be mine again

wanting to come back to you is wanting to come back to you five, ten years ago

how i long for you but coming back now would crush my soul

the neighbor’s grass is greener, see

it was true all along

but i’ll always try to water yours

from a distance

always


Ana Patricia Romay


A Note From The Creator: I wrote this with the intention of reciting it aloud. I was born and raised in Caracas, Venezuela. Leaving made me realize how tightly I hold onto my roots when I am far away from all the things that shaped me and made me grow, the good, the bad, the beautiful, and the ugly. The things I spent years rejecting are now the parts of myself I revisit the most. I wrote these poems one December night at around 2 a.m., on the first winter break I spent far away from my family and my country, its warmth, its food, its music, its noise, and my childhood bed. // I took the picture one summer in Venezuela in Margarita, an island historically significant for the Spanish for its coveted pearls. A place with beautiful beaches and salty and sandy childhood memories, tight braids, empanadas, and sunburns that I still carry beneath my skin.

bottom of page