top of page

Smiling Trees Make Better Lovers

Nico Hartnett


I think I was a lonely child.

I made friends with the smiling trees in my yard,

and as far as I could see

every branch my hands could reach

might lift me up to safety in its arms


I'm told i've grown to be hard to please-

I'm older now,

enough to know that the harder

I love

the slower,

the slower I breathe.


Still,

every man who finds me pays no mind

to the past behind me-

to the scars on my elbows and knees.


As for knowing if i'm hard to please:

I dare any man to ask the smiling trees,

for if I found a soul to hold me like those branches

and to touch me like those leaves-


Oh if I knew

that the older I grew

the more I'd miss the gentle love

that comes from knowing nothing of

the very thing

itself.


A Note From The Creator: I guess I just like trees more than men.



bottom of page