top of page

I Fear It's Forever

Kyla Mayoree


I wonder how long I’ve been like this

How long I’ll be like this

The words in my throat that claw its way up to my tongue

It pushes down my taste buds and past my gums

But lose momentum on its way through my lips

Where my honesty is watered down, not really being honest

My words end up only being a fraction of what they actually intend to mean

I can’t say I love you, I can’t say I miss you

The words leave my lips and say

Wish you were here to see this

Wish I knew how you felt

But never explaining why

The longing I have for touch

Touch starved, as they say

Boils in my stomach

Bubbles up into my torso

Flows down my arms

And flicks across my fingers

But by the time they reach my fingertips

They hesitate

And after that hesitation

Comes the regret

Comes the disgust

I’ve found the answer to that question

How long have I been like this?

It feels like forever

The momentum I lost in early adolescence

When my words didn’t matter to others

As much as they did to me

And were ignored before I learned to ignore them myself

My mother tells me the hesitation has been forever

I remember it from the first time touch wasn’t reciprocated

When I was too young to know what reciprocation means

Which leads me to the answer of the next question

How long will I be like this?

This answer I fear the most

How long will I be like this?

Forever.

bottom of page